Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar
VarunK
Level III

Centre point vs factor level

Hello:

I am studying a DOE textbook and in one example there are two factors with two levels.

A 2^2 experiment is set-up with 5 center points. There are no replicates or blocks. In total 9 runs

My question is what is the benefit of CP, why not a two factor experiment with three levels, In total 8 runs

Q1) Which scenario is more beneficial?

Q2) Are there any cases where we should use CP and where we should use an additional level?

Your help is highly appreciated.

Best Regards,

Varun Katiyar

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Victor_G
Super User

Re: Centre point vs factor level

As I was mentioning in the other post, there may be several points to take into consideration in order to choose/decide between the two designs possibilities :

• Study phase : Is this design part of a
    • Screening phase, so quadratic terms may be not necessary to estimate, but lack-of-fit test may be interesting to consider if the experimental area chosen is relevant to check if the model is adequate for the system under study,
    • Optimization phase, so you may need quadratic terms estimation to fit a response surface model, or
    • Robustness phase ; if you want to evaluate robustness of your optimal settings, the central point will correspond to the optimal conditions found before, and you want to be sure that the variation around this optimum is negligible, so middle points may not be needed here, and the emphasis is more on evaluating and reducing prediction variance in the centre of the experimental space than estimating complex terms in a model, since you expect no or little variation, so no statistically significant effects.
    • ?