Did you mean: 
Choose Language Hide Translation Bar

Stack Columns with multiple names

Hello everyone!
Lets say I have a data table which looks like that: 

A,B1,B2,C1,C2,D

I want to stack them so the new table looks like that: 

A,B,C

I have three lists: one containing columns that need to be kept: list_to_keep= {A},list_to_stack_before= {B1,C1} and list_to_stack_after = {B2,C2}.

First i wrote a script to create a new list with the new column names: 

new_column_names = {};

str = char(list_to_stack_before);
newstr = substitute(str,"", "", "_be_sam","");
new_column_names = parse(newstr);

Then I tried to loop the stack function but it always just adds more rows. I can not use the normal Stack function because it doesnt let me use multiple names in the Stacked Data Column argument. How can I solve this problem? Thanks a lot i am very new to jmp.

5 REPLIES 5
GregF_JMP
Staff

Re: Stack Columns with multiple names

Hello new member

While scripting can be done, perhaps see how far you can go prior to coding (protip- in JMP it's often pretty far).

The Tables Menu, Stack command will get most of the way there.  The realtime preview is really helpful.

GregF_JMP_0-1710938942355.png

After executing this command, rename the "Data" Cols to A and B, delete the Label Column.

If you want to script it, after executing the stack command the green "Source" triangle in upper left panel will re-execute the action.  Right click/edit to see the script syntax.
To get script syntax - use workflow builder to record steps, then red triangle> save to script window.

Hello Greg, thanks a lot for your reply!

I am familiar with the stack interface and also used the workflowbuilder to get a script to stack. The problem with renaming is that I do not have 3 columns that I want to stack but more like 40 and I expect it to grow with new measurements coming in..